Exaltation: A Great Form Of Worship

IMG_2792-1.JPG

“Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens; let thy glory be above all the earth.” – Psalm 57:5

Ever wondered why so many gospel songs and scriptures talk about “lifting God higher” and “exalting Him”? Well I did.
A couple of months back, during one of my morning fellowships with Father, He showed me something I thought I should share. I was worshipping in songs and after a while, I saw that as I lifted God higher in my worship, He was literally being lifted higher. He was being magnified, He was literally being “lifted up on my praises!” Each second I magnified Him, He became even more lifted up than the last!

I pondered on this and The Lord showed me that; the more we exalt Him, the more exalted He actually becomes ‘in our lives’. Although God is already far exalted above everything and doesn’t need us to remain the Most High, our personal exaltation of Him magnifies His presence and power in our own lives.

Many of us have heard the popular saying: “Don’t tell God how big your problems are, tell your problems how big God is”. Truer words have never been said. God needs to be magnified above all in our lives, especially our struggles. When God takes His place as the Most High in your life, everything else falls into place. The more you lift Him up, the more He is lifted up in your life, the more powerful He becomes, the more He takes total Lordship over your entire being. This is a personal thing, no one can lift God up in your life for you. You must confess it with your mouth and heart as long as you live. The level of Jehovah’s Lordship over every individual’s life is as a result of that individual’s surrender and exaltation of Him. This is why we have so many songs and scripture exalting God.

Now we shouldn’t exalt God because we want our problems gone, nor like it’s a chore, we should exalt him because He is a gargantuan God, He is actually worthy of exaltation. Just like the 24 elders in Revelation 4:11 who worship Him day and night in heaven say: “Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honor and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.” The disappearance of your problems is concomitant with exalting God and shouldn’t be the driving force behind it. If we refuse to exalt Him, He will exalt Himself: “Now will I rise, saith the LORD; now will I be exalted; now will I lift up myself.” – Isaiah 33:10. Jesus said in Luke 19:40 that if no one exalts Him, stones will come to life and lift Him up! Remember, even God the Father has lifted Jesus up forever. “Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name” – Philippians 2:9

When you exalt Jesus, you will look up to Him. No one trembles at the sight of a diminutive man because we literally look down on them. God wants us to always gaze upward at Him. Remember, the last image the disciples had of Jesus was Him being lifted up. Jesus is coming for those who are ready, those who are constantly look up to Him for His coming. “Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith” – Hebrews 12:2. “Lift up your eyes unto the hills…” “Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth” – Colossians 3:2.

O how I love the countless worship songs that lift Jesus higher and exalt Him now. How I love to sing “We lift Your name higher!” on and on each day, with renewed understanding that Christ is actually being lifted up far above everything in my entire life.

“O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together.” – Psalm 34:3.
Why not join me and worship God now. Lifting our hands up high, let us enthrone Him on the ethereal heights of our praise. There are a billion songs that can help with this, practically all songs that have “Hosanna” in them. But here are a few:

“Hosanna, Hosanna, Hosanna in the highest! Lord we lift up Your name. With a heart full of praise. Be exalted o Lord my God. Hosanna in the highest!

“Be lifted high. O Lord be lifted high! For you are holy, righteous and worthy.. O Lord be lifted high!”

“Lift Him up higher! My God is good I will lift Him up higher. Everywhere I go, I will lift Him up higher!”

“Hosanna! In the highest! Let our King be lifted high! Hosanna..”

Visit our Salvation Page now and get right with Jesus, let Him take his rightful place in your life, on Top!

3 thoughts on “Exaltation: A Great Form Of Worship

Leave a Reply

